1014427_10152049327166258_1455494370_n

Living in a Place I Love to Call Home

Perhaps I’m one of the lucky ones. Perhaps that’s how the Heavens ordained it. I have been living in Armenia for 1 year and 2 months now, exactly a year after I wrote the post referenced in Repat Armenia’s article. I would rewrite every sentiment I expressed there and more. 

You see, after a year of living in the place I love to call home, I am more in love with this country than ever before. I have not contemplated moving away from Armenia for even a moment, instead encouraging those who visit throughout the summer months to consider investing in our country, to moving even partially, to creating ties with our wonderful Armenia. After all, we are the ones who will keep this our home. If we all left, who would be left to till the soil, cultivate the land, bring in the foreigners or show them the beauty of an ancient civilization, however lost it may be in time.

I passed the 1st summer, I passed the winter and now the 2nd summer is almost over. I live and breathe Armenia. My aim? Help boost local production, encourage Made in Armenia products (for which I have a list here- Made in Armenia), and pretty much try to keep locals here while helping repatriates when and where I can. 

I’ve held multiple side jobs and continue to do so. Jobs exist in this country, though not enough for everyone it seems. Sometimes job requirements want much more than what the job itself demands, which can cause problems. 

Yet, how can one not be happy? The fact that the city is small means that I can walk everywhere. If I must go far or need to be there asap, public transportation costs less than 25 cents, while taxis will not exceed $2.50 – unless of course you leave Yerevan or go from one end to the other. Still, it costs $5.00 to get to the airport, even less from my place. 

How can I not be happy when there is constantly one festival after another? When random things are always occurring on Northern Avenue, around the Opera or Cascade? How can I not be happy when everywhere I go, I hear Armenian. I hear all dialects now, adding to the joy. The country is slower paced, each day is lived to its maximum and the quality of one’s life is so much better than that in Canada. It’s simple here. The fruit is eaten off the trees, people are often good and kind (even those with soviet-style harsh demeanors), and there isn’t a place in the world I’d rather be but in Armenia. 

After so long, I’m still a dreamer and ever the optimist. A realist optimist is what I would call myself and I see our country blossoming with our efforts. Home is where the heart is, and my heart is fully entrenched in Armenia’s mountainous terrain. 

2 thoughts on “Living in a Place I Love to Call Home”

  1. I’d like to see your “Made in Armenia” list as I am also always trying to support the local economy. However, when I click the link, I am required to log into Facebook — I don’t have an account. Any chance you can make this list public?

Leave a Reply

