A Curious Discovery- I Wonder if There’ll be an Azerbaijani V

Dystopian fiction novels have been documenting worlds in which fascist totalitarian governments take over known world communities in the wake of cataclysmic events leading to the mass destruction of large populations. Whether it’s because of a Nuclear War as in “The Crysalids”  or a Big Brother society established like in “1984,” these classic literature pieces are both terrifying and forewarning. Imagine “Brave New World” come to life, wherein consumerism makes the world go round and families are nonexistent. What if we were in a dark and dreary place “The Giver” presents to us? My latest obsession is with “V for Vendetta” and the ideas of freedom it represents.

Funny enough, Aliyev’s rant on twitter a few hours ago reminds me of Adam Susan’s speech in the comic series:

Susan’s speech:
My name is Adam Susan. I am the leader. 
Leader of the lost, ruler of the ruins. I am a man, like any other man. I lead the country that I love out of the wilderness of the twentieth century. I believe in survival. In the destiny of the Nordic race. I believe in fascism. Oh yes, I am a fascist. What of it? Fascism…a word. A word whose meaning has been lost in the bleatings of the weak and the treacherous. The Romans invented fascism. A bundle of bound twigs was its symbol. One twig could be broken. A bundle would prevail. Fascism…strength in unity. I believe in strength. I believe in unity. And if that strength, that unity of purpose, demands a uniformity of thought, word and deed then so be it. I will not hear talk of freedom. I will not hear talk of individual liberty. They are luxuries. I do not believe in luxuries. The war put paid to luxury. The war put paid to freedom. The only freedom left to my people is the freedom to starve. The freedom to die, the freedom to live in a world of chaos. Should I allow them that freedom? I think not. I think not. Do I deserve for myself the freedom I deny to others? I do not. I sit here within my cage and I am but a servant. I, who am master of all that I see I see desolation. I see ashes. I have so very much. I have so very little. I am not loved, I know that. Not in soul or body. I have never known the soft whisper of endearment. Never known the peace that lies between the thighs of woman. But I am respected. I am feared. And that will suffice…

Samples of Aliyev’s tweets can be found here: https://twitter.com/presidentaz

The world’s best comedian is what I call him. Should he not have had money and oil to offer the world, he’d be the laughingstock of every country. This is not to say that he isn’t already, for his words inspire such mirth, but a tactful diplomacy is utilized in order to keep that money and oil in the pockets of those who crave it most, though most definitely don’t need it. He seems to believe his ludicrous claims, his idea of uniformity of thought becoming the focus of every step he seems to take. Institutionalized lies have taken over, poisoning the education of young minds and twisting the mentality of all generations. Hatred is fostered, ethnocentrism becomes the doctrine and in all this, the state is portrayed as one of equality, tolerance and democracy. The sheer hypocrisy of the system is laughable, while the forced ignorance of the people is utterly pitiable.

I wonder, will this manner of governance inspire revolutionaries like V to rise up and dismantle this system?

Remember, Remember, the 5th of November,
the gunpowder treason and plot.
I know of no reason
why the gunpowder treason
should ever be forgot.”

2 thoughts on “A Curious Discovery- I Wonder if There’ll be an Azerbaijani V”

Leave a Reply

