Khndzoresk is widely famous for its canyon with picturesque rock formations and ancient cave settlements. The artificial caves, some of which are currently used as stables and warehouses, were inhabited until the 1950s. At the bottom of the gorge there is the St. Hripsime church, dating to the 17th century. On a spur beyond on the right side of the gorge there is Anapat (hermitage) with the tomb of Mkhitar Sparapet. The cave church of St. Tatevos can also be found nearby.
At the end of the 19th century, Old Khndzoresk was the biggest village of Eastern Armenia. At the beginning of the 20th century, the community had 8300 inhabitants (1800 households). In 1913 there were 27 shops, 3 dye-houses, tanneries, 7 schools. The village is famous for taking part in the liberation movement of David Bek. The fortress of Khndzoresk served as a military base for Mkhitar Sparapet in 1728-1730. In 1735 the village was visited by Catholicos (Head of Armenian Apostolic Church) Abraham Kretatsi who gave a thorough description of the community in his chronicles. During the 1980s, an additional village sprouted 7km from Khndzoresk due resizing and political unrest. This village, considerably smaller than Khndzoresk, is called lower Khndzoresk, or Nerkin Khndzoresk.
As of 2009, the population of Khndzoresk comprises 2256, of which 1126 women and 1130 men. There are 516 households in total. About 90% of the population is involved in agriculture (animal husbandry and gardening). There is a small milk processing enterprise, employing 8 people. The community has a number of administrative and public institutions, such as community council, secondary school (with 370 pupils), musical school, kindergarten, library, museum, culture club. The National Statistical Service of the Republic of Armenia (ARMSTAT) reported its population as 2,260 in 2010.